The Maryland Student Legislature session was held April 29 through May 1 at the Maryland State House in Annapolis. Students from nine universities and colleges across the state joined together to write, research and debate issues of local, state and national importance.

Additionally, students are educated on the legislative process including developing skills in parliamentary procedure, researching and drafting legislation, and understanding the organizational structure of leadership. Throughout the academic year, students participate in legislative sessions culminating with the annual session.

Lt. Gov. Boyd Rutherford was the keynote speaker.

Dylan Wood, from Glen Burnie, a junior at Hood College, was elected to serve as the student governor for 2016-17. The student governor is the chief executive department official of the programmatic arm of the organization. The student governor also serves as a member of the Maryland Student Legislature board of directors, retaining full voting rights and privileges as a member of the board.

Tyler Graham, of Mount Airy, also a student at Hood, was elected to serve as the lieutenant governor; Ashley Ellis, of Mount Airy, a student at the University of Maryland, College Park, secretary of state; and Katie Gallagher, of Monrovia, and who attends the University of Maryland, College Park, as comptroller.

Maria Sofia, a senior at Mount St. Mary’s University and a resident of Germantown, was the winner of the Troy Simmons Award and the Most Outstanding Resolution Award. Other area award-winning students include Tyler Graham, Hood, the most outstanding delegate.

For more information on the program, visit