MSL is proud to announce the winners of our annual student awards and the 2020-21 Council of State officers.

2019-20 Award Winners

Most Outstanding Delegate: Hanna Niles, Mount Saint Mary’s University

Most Outstanding Senator: Eric Gyamfi, Hood College

Most Outstanding Resolution: Itayu Torres, Hood College for R004-1920, A resolution concerning making the City of Frederick a ‘Sanctuary City’ by legalizing and standardizing statewide non-cooperation policies between law enforcement and agencies and federal immigration authorities

Most Outstanding Act: Jon Huizer, Frostburg State University for A015, The Chesapeake Watershed Protection Act

Most Outstanding Orator: Jess Oswald, Frostburg State University

Most Outstanding Delegation: Frostburg State University

Thomas V. Mike Miller Award for Up and Coming New Members: Maddie Jones, Washington College

Susan McConkey Governor’s Award: Colin Levi, Washington College

Herbert C. Smith Award for a Distinguished Career of Service: Jon Huizer, Frostburg State University

2020-21 Council of State

Governor: Jacob Keith, Hood College

Lt. Governor: Garrett Berch, Frostburg State University

Attorney General: Brooks Anderson, Hood College

Secretary of State: Richard Medina, Mount St. Mary’s University

Speaker of the Assembly: Katie Pinkowski, Frostburg State University

Comptroller: Vacant (to be appointed by the Governor)