The Maryland Student Legislature recognizes our 2017 Award Winners!

  • William Troy Simmons Award for Distinguished Career of Service: Alex Kurtz, Washington College
  • Susan Dill McConkey Governor’s Award: Derrick Wood, Hood College
  • Thomas V. “Mike” Miller Award for Up and Coming New Members: Nick Fisher, Hood College
  • Most Outstanding Delegation: Hood College
  • Most Outstanding Senator: Martin Mitchell, Bowie State University
  • Most Outstanding Delegate: Gabrielle Cavalier, Hood College
  • Most Outstanding Act: Victoria Cline, Washington College, for An Act Concerning Equal English Access
  • Most Outstanding Resolution: Alex Roberts, Washington College, for A Resolution Concerning The Formation of a Council on Technology, Ethics, and Law
  • Best Orator: Brice McAndrew, Hood College

The Susan Dill McConkey Governor’s Award was created this year by the Board of Directors. The award is to be presented by the Governor to a member of their choosing to recognize unsung accomplishments in MSL. The award was created to honor Susan Dill McConkey, who is leaving the MSL Board of Directors after 25 years of service to MSL.